Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Bulleted Text Notes Overlap Border - Revit

  1. #1
    Member DMagillIII's Avatar
    Join Date
    2010-02
    Location
    Bethlehem, PA
    Posts
    29
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Question Bulleted Text Notes Overlap Border - Revit

    I ran into something new (to me).
    When creating a left-justified bullet list in a bordered text box, the word wrap overlaps the right border before wrapping. When I drag the right edge of the box out the text adjusts and overlaps the wider border.
    Aside from increasing the overall border offset in the text type properties, is there a way to adjust the word wrap to accommodate the extra spaces on the left used by the bullets?
    Revit Version:
    16.0.1063.0
    20151007_0715(x64)
    R2TextOverlapRevit2016.jpg
    I appreciate any input that anyone may have.
    Thank you,
    Don
    Thank you for your assistance in this very important matter.

  2. #2
    Active Member
    Join Date
    2016-02
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Posts
    61
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Bulleted Text Notes Overlap Border - Revit

    I would have to say that its a graphics issue. I have the same build and tested it and works fine. One way to find out is to uncheck Use hardware acceleration. This will change the graphics to use the cpu not gpu. If you notice a difference that its a driver issue. Was the text copied from another product?

  3. #3
    Member DMagillIII's Avatar
    Join Date
    2010-02
    Location
    Bethlehem, PA
    Posts
    29
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Bulleted Text Notes Overlap Border - Revit

    Thank you for the response, Nathan.
    In answer to your question, I typed this text in Revit. I am able to accomplish a single resize of the text box, without seeing the issue. From the second adjustment forward, overlap.
    I tested your idea with interesting results:
    Turning off hardware acceleration made no difference on my mobile workstation. I also ran a test plot from my machine, and the glitch carried through to the plot.
    However, when I opened on a different machine, the issue was gone and the plots were perfect. The other machine is a tower with beefier specs, but with components that are at least two years older than those in my machine.
    Hopefully, I can test on another newer mobile workstation tomorrow. Do you think that this may be a Xeon vs. i7 issue, as opposed to graphics?
    Thank you for your assistance in this very important matter.

  4. #4
    Revit Forum Manager Steve_Stafford's Avatar
    Join Date
    2001-12
    Location
    Irvine, CA
    Posts
    7,508
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Bulleted Text Notes Overlap Border - Revit

    Does using the zoom option Zoom Sheet Size before interacting with the text help at all?

  5. #5
    Active Member
    Join Date
    2016-02
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Posts
    61
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Bulleted Text Notes Overlap Border - Revit

    I wouldn't expect xeon vs I7 to cause the issue. Does it happened every time you create text box on that machine. I wonder if the text just formed some corruption. I did get the text to go crazy after I modified it numerous time in a row. I cant get it to act the same every time so I think its a bug in Revit.
    text bug.PNG
    I noticed you also have a question how to adjust word wrap there is no setting for that but you can adjust the space from the bullet to first character by changing the Tab Size in the text type properties.
    Last edited by nathan.chapman; 2016-01-08 at 03:53 PM.

  6. #6
    Revit Forum Manager Steve_Stafford's Avatar
    Join Date
    2001-12
    Location
    Irvine, CA
    Posts
    7,508
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Bulleted Text Notes Overlap Border - Revit

    I tested Revit 2016 R2 Update 1 for R2 and find it works perfectly UNTIL you use the Underline override on NOTES: After that the box loses it's ability to respect the size of the text. Does seem like a bug with the text editor.

    For now, to avoid this issue, I'd use a separate text element above for the NOTES: text so it can be formatted differently.

    Bugger...except that further editing of the text does cause Show Border to lose its mind...I guess it is fatally flawed.
    Last edited by Steve_Stafford; 2016-01-08 at 09:29 PM.

  7. #7
    Member DMagillIII's Avatar
    Join Date
    2010-02
    Location
    Bethlehem, PA
    Posts
    29
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Bulleted Text Notes Overlap Border - Revit

    I see one workaround... I can always just use detail lines to draw a box around the text, after typing and sizing. I plan to turn this into a ticket with Autodesk, as well.
    Thank you, gentlemen, for your help.
    Thank you for your assistance in this very important matter.

Similar Threads

  1. Add spacing option when using bulleted text
    By Wish List System in forum Revit MEP - Wish List
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2012-10-23, 10:06 PM
  2. Any thoughts on how to place text notes in Revit?
    By hdjohnson in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 2011-07-03, 02:02 PM
  3. Additional Text Border styles
    By IanR in forum AutoCAD Wish List
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2010-06-09, 01:40 PM
  4. Text Overlap MEP equipment
    By spiveylipsey in forum Revit MEP - General
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 2009-10-20, 03:14 PM
  5. Text gets cutoff when placed near border edge
    By csorensen in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 2007-06-04, 09:55 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •